Well this comes as a bit of a surprise. Darren Aronofsky, the Oscar-nominated director behind Black Swan and The Wrestler, was supposedly locked in to direct the upcoming X-Men spin-off, The Wolverine. But now comes the news that Aronofsky has had to pull out of the job due to scheduling conflicts, the reason being the film would keep him out of the U.S. for too long. Here’s what Aronofsky had to say:

“As I talked more about the film with my collaborators at Fox, it became clear that the production of The Wolverine would keep me out of the country for almost a year. I was not comfortable being away from my family for that length of time. I am sad that I won’t be able to see the project through, as it is a terrific script and I was very much looking forward to working with my friend, Hugh Jackman, again.”

I find this news very disappointing, as I would’ve loved to have seen what Aronofsky could do with a Comic-book movie. And although I’m glad he said the script’s terrific, I’m not too pleased with what 20th Century Fox had to say about the matter: “We will regroup and move forward aggressively.”

Are Fox going to rush this potential brilliant movie now? I sincerely hope not, as that was the biggest problem with the last X-Men movie. Director Gavin Wood of that movie has gone down on record saying how the studio interference with his movie affected both the production and post-production of X-Men Origins, resulting in a slight mess of a movie, with some brief great moments, over shadowed by a clunky script, a disappointing narrative and occasional shoddy effects. I hope to God that Fox now don’t do the same with this movie for the sake of getting it out there. Hopeful they find a replacement who is just as innovative and daring as Aronofsky.

