A few days ago during an interview with Vanity Fair James Cameron past comment on what he thought about the new Piranha 3-D movie, and he didn’t have kind words to say. This is what he had to say about the new movie: “I would go even farther and say that I tend almost never to throw other films under the bus, but that is exactly an example of what we should not be doing in 3-D. Because it just cheapens the medium and reminds you of the bad 3-D horror films from the 70s and 80s, like ‘Friday the 13th 3-D.’ When movies got to the bottom of the barrel of their creativity and at the last gasp of their financial lifespan, they did a 3-D version to get the last few drops of blood out of the turnip.” 

Cameron has always had a big ego, but rarely anyone puts him in his place when he becomes this opinionated, that was until today. Mark Canton, the producer of Piranha 3-D, had a few words to say in response to Cameron’s comments.

His comments are ridiculous, self-serving and insulting to those of us who are not caught up in serving his ego and his rhetoric,” said Canton. “Jim, are you kidding or what? Shame on you for thinking that genre movies and the real maestros like Roger Corman and his collaborators are any less auteur or impactful in the history of cinema than you.” He continued: “Let’s just keep this in mind Jim… You did not invent 3D. You were fortunate that others inspired you to take it further. The simple truth is that I had nothing but good things to say about ‘Avatar’ and my own experience since I actually saw it and didn’t damn someone else’s talent publicly in order to disassociate myself from my origins in the business from which we are all very fortunate. To be honest, I found the 3D in ‘Avatar’ to be inconsistent and while ground breaking in many respects, sometimes I thought it overwhelmed the storytelling. Technology aside, I wish ‘Avatar’ had been more original in its storytelling.
Mr. Cameron has been well and truly owned here I think as Canton brings up some very strong points to support his film as well as other 3-D releases. Well done Mr. Canton for putting Cameron in his place!

