The remake of the 1990 Arnold Schwarzenegger Sci-Fi Actioner (he’s good for them!) Total Recall has just got itself a director, in the form of Len Wiseman, director of the Underworld trilogy and Die Hard 4.0. He’s also married to Kate Beckinsale… one lucky man.

When I first heard about a remake of Total Recall, I have to say I groaned with frustration. It is barely 20 years old and it is an excellent Schwarzenegger movie that I think didn’t really need revisiting. But then I heard the news that the remake is going to be quite a bit different, being more contemporized and closer to the original source; a short story by Philip K. Dick entitled We Can Remember it for You, Wholesale. So I am more open to the idea now, but I hope it can still be as entertaining as the original.

The announcement was made by Columbia Pictures President Matt Tolmach who had this to say about their chosen director “Len has an incredible love of the genre and a great gift for action. He’ll bring a contemporary feel to the film while taking care with everything we love about Philip K. Dick’s original story.” Wiseman himself had this to say, “I’ve always been fascinated with Philip K. Dick’s short story, and I’m excited at that prospect of diving even deeper into the type of world it evokes and the questions it asks. I love that the most crucial mystery our character is trying to solve is the one of his own soul.”

Wiseman seems to be very passionate about the project, and while I don’t particularly like the Underworld movies, I did enjoy Die Hard 4.0, so I do trust him to produce a highly inventive Sci-Fi action flick. Plus he is working on a script from Kurt Wimmer who made the awesome Equilibrium and wrote the latest Angelina Jolie action mystery Salt. So fingers crossed and lets ‘Get our ass to Mars!’

