This has been circling the rumour mill for quite a long time now, but now the man himself, Joss Whedon, has confirmed at Comic Con that he will in fact direct the upcoming epic Marvel team-up movie, The Avengers. “It’s not an official thing, I think because Marvel couldn’t afford a press release,” Whedon said. “So can we make that an official thing? I’m directing The Avengers.

The only concern fans may have over Whedon is his lack of directing experience, his only movie being 2004’s Serenity. But that movie was awesome and Whedon is a fan-boy at heart and will definitely listen to the fans and will definitely be making the movie for them.

He also gave a status update on the movie: “I am still writing an outline. I’m still in that stage. I will say the thing I love about it, the thing that made me excited to do it, is how counterintuitive it is. These people shouldn’t be in the same room – and that is the very definition of family,” said Whedon. 

The Avengers is in early stages of development and will feature Robert Downey Jnr. as Iron Man, Chris Evans as Captain America and Chris Hemworth as Thor. Marvel is still currently searching for an actor to replace Edward Norton as The Hulk.

